Rethinking Shakespeare

I’m very pleased to be able to tell you all that I’m directing a vignette as part of Bigger Than Us Productions ‘Seven Sins of Shakespeare’ event at the South Bank Playhouse in September. See here for more details: Bigger Than Us – Seven Sins

As most of you know I’ve been working away in a little bubble recently and haven’t had much of a chance to play with others, so to speak. So this was a great opportunity for me, and I’m really excited about getting to work on this.

It’s been wonderful to speak with the other directors involved and to see so many people getting excited about Shakespeare, looking at it in a fresh and exciting way. I admit I was very overwhelmed and came away from the first meeting thinking my idea was complete shit compared to some of the wonderfully creative takes on some of the plays chosen. I won’t give too much away, but let’s just say I’m glad I won’t be the one mopping up at the end of the night. 🙂

Each play focuses on one sin, and the variety of plays is wonderful – with some lesser performed plays getting the spotlight shone on them. An at just 15 minutes each the whole event is a wonderful opportunity to sample Shakespeare for newcomers and old fans alike.

I’m directing Gluttony (which my friends this is hilarious given my other food blog and obsession with cooking) and am focusing on Henry IV and in particular Falstaff and his preoccupation with food and wine and women. Hopefully it will be as amusing on stage as it is in my head.

The show is running from the 22-24 September and is set to be a great experience. Hope to see some of you there, and I’ll keep you all updated as we get nearer the time.

Love, etc,

C

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

